Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


Between 18-25 August 2019, Athens PIL and ELSA Athens successfully hosted, for the fourth consecutive year, the Athens Summer Law School on International Investment Law, in Athens, Greece. The summer school brought together 68 students from 29 different countries and provided participants an intensive 6 day academic programme with a total of 37 hours of interactive lectures and tutorial classes by distinguished scholars and practitioners, including a specialized Skills Training Work in cooperation with Young ICCA.


The Academic Faculty of the Athens Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2019 included (in alphabetical order):


Francisco Abriani (Legal Counsel, International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes)

John A. Apsouris (General Counsel, Hellenic Petroleum Group)

Julian Bordaçahar (Legal Counsel, Permanent Court of Arbitration)

Marc Bungenberg (Director, Europa-Institut; Professor of Public Law, European Law and Public International Law, Saarland University)

Panagiotis Chalkias (Associate, White & Case, Geneva / Young ICCA Co-Chair)

Cristina Contartese (Lecturer in EU law, European Law and Governance School/EPLO)

Eric De Brabandere (Professor of International Dispute Settlement law and Director of the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies at Leiden University; Attorney at the Brussels Bar)

Michail Dekastros (Associate, Sidley Austin LLP, Geneva)

Mary Footer (Professor of International Economic Law, University of Nottingham)

Julien Fouret (Partner, Betto Seraglini, Paris)

Anastasios Gourgourinis (Lecturer in Public International Law, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens; Athens PIL)

Burkhard Hess (Director, Max Planck Institute Luxembourg for International, European and Regulatory Procedural Law)

Kaj Hobér (Professor of International Investment and Trade Law, Uppsala University; Chairman of the Board of the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce; Associate Member of 3 Verulam Buildings, Gray’s Inn, London)

Dimitrios Katsikis (Associate, Shearman & Sterling LLP, Singapore)

Eirini Kikarea (PhD Candidate, University of Cambridge)

Csaba Kovács (Consultant and Arbitrator)

Yarik Kryvoi (Senior Research Fellow in International Economic Law and Director of the Investment Treaty Forum at the British Institute of International and Comparative Law)

Andrea Menaker (Partner, White & Case LLP, London)

Panos Merkouris (Professor of Public International Law and Chair on Interpretation and Dispute Settlement in International Law, University of Groningen)

George Panopoulos (Attorney-at-Law, Dr. iur.; Partner, Lambadarios Law Firm)

Alina Papanastasiou (LL.M., University of Cambridge)

Thomas-Nektarios Papanastasiou (Assistant Professor in Law, Neapolis University Pafos)

Emily-Marie Sipiorski (Senior Researcher, University of Hamburg)

Panos Theodoropoulos (Associate, Dechert LLP, Paris)

Nhu-Hoang Tran Thang (Associate, LALIVE, Geneva / Former Young ICCA Co-Chair)

Aikaterini Tsampi (Assistant Professor of International Law, University of Groningen)

Antonios Tzanakopoulos (Associate Professor of Public International Law, University of Oxford; Door Tenant, Three Stone Chambers; Secretary General, International Law Association)

Andreas Ziegler (Professor and Director of the LLM Programme in International and European Economic and Commercial Law – Master of Advanced Studies, University of Lausanne; President of the International Law Association - Swiss Chapter)