Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer



Between 17-22 August 2020, Athens PIL and ELSA Athens successfully organized, for the fifth consecutive year, the Athens Summer Law School on International Investment Law, in webinar format due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Online Summer Law School brought together a record of 77 students from 31 different countries and provided participants an intensive 6 day academic programme with a total of 31 hours of interactive lectures and tutorial classes by distinguished scholars and practitioners, including two specialized Skills Training Workshops in cooperation with Young ICCA and ICDR Y&I.


The Academic Faculty of the Athens Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2020 included (in alphabetical order):


Claudia Annacker (Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP)

John A. Apsouris (General Counsel, Hellenic Petroleum Group; Chair of the Legal Issue Group of Fuels Europe, a division of the European Petroleum Refiners Association)

Gabriel Bottini (Partner, Uría Menéndez; Adjunct Professor of Public International Law, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Panagiotis Chalkias (Associate, White & Case S.A., Geneva; Young ICCA Co-Chair)

Daniel G. Costelloe (Counsel, WilmerHale, London)

Georgios Dimitropoulos (Associate Professor of Law, HBKU College of Law)

Kabir A.N. Duggal (Senior International Arbitration Advisor at Arnold and Porter Kaye Scholer LLP, New York; Lecturer-in-Law at Columbia Law School)

Aikaterini Florou (Senior Lecturer and LL.M. Course Coordinator, University of Bedfordshire; Associate Editor, Journal of World Energy Law and Business)

Filippo Fontanelli (Senior Lecturer in International Economic Law, University of Edinburgh School of Law)

Camilla Gambarini (Senior Associate, Withers LLP, London / Former Young ICCA Co-Chair)

Anastasios Gourgourinis (Lecturer in Public International Law, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens School of Law; Athens PIL)

George Grigoriadis (Associate, Your Legal Partners)

Bo Ra Hoebeke (Managing Associate, Linklaters LLP, Amsterdam)

Anne K. Hoffmann (Independent Arbitrator, Hoffmann Arbitration)

Clotilde Jourdain-Fortier (Professor in Private Law and Criminal Sciences and Director of the CREDIMI, University of Burgundy, Dijon)

Eirini-Stella Leptourgou (Deputy Counsel, ICC International Court of Arbitration / Eastern Mediterranean and Middle East Team)

Chrysoula Mavromati (Policy Officer, Investment Unit, DG Trade, European Commission)

Antonios Metaxas (Assistant Professor in EU Law, University of Athens)

Federico Ortino (Reader of International Economic Law, King’s College London)

Joshua Paine (Lecturer in Law, University of Bristol)

Thomas-Nektarios Papanastasiou (Assistant Professor of Public International Law, Neapolis University, Pafos)

Martins Paparinskis (Reader in Public International Law, University College London)

Ioannis Prezas (Associate Professor of International Law at the Sorbonne Law School, University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne;Sorbonne Research Institute for International and European Studies)

Tim Rauschning (Senior Associate, Luther, Hamburg)

Silja Schaffstein (Counsel, Lévy Kaufmann-Kohler)

Claire Sergaki (Associate, Dryllerakis and Associates)

Eduardo Silva-Romero (Partner and co-Chair of the International Arbitration global practice, Dechert LLP; Professor Emeritus of Rosario University, Bogota; Professor of International Contracts and Investment Arbitration at Sciences Po, Paris)

Marina Trunk-Fedorova (Associate Professor, St. Petersburg State University)

Lukas Vanhonnaeker (Post-doctoral fellow, McGill University)

Paolo Vargiu (Lecturer in International Law, University of Leicester)

Matthew Weiniger QC (Dispute Resolution Partner, Global Co-Head of International Arbitration, Linklaters LLP)