Online Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2021


The Summer Law School on International Investment Law, co-organized annually since 2016 by ELSA Athens and  the Athens Public International Law Center (Athens PIL) of the School of Law of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, under the academic supervision of Dr Anastasios Gourgourinis, will take place in webinar format, as an ELSA Webinars Academy, between August 23 and August 28, 2021.

The Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2021 will consist of a total of 30 hours of interactive lectures over 6 days, and will provide participants with all the essential tools to grasp the key aspects of international investment law, while also addressing some of the currently “hottest topics” of the field. The programme will also feature an online interactive workshop conducted under the aegis of ICDR Y&I.

The Faculty of the Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2021 includes (in alphabetical order):


  • John A. Apsouris (General Counsel, Hellenic Petroleum Group; Chair of the Legal Issue Group of Fuels Europe, a division of the European Petroleum Refiners Association)
  • Crina Baltag (Senior Lecturer in International Arbitration, Stockholm University; Arbitrator; Attorney-at-Law)
  • Gary Born (Partner, Chair of the International Arbitration Practice Group, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP)
  • Markus Burgstaller (Public International Law Partner, Hogan Lovells International LLP)
  • Andrea Carlevaris (Partner, BonelliErede; Professor of International and EU law)
  • Leïla Choukroune (Professor of International Law & Director of the Thematic Area in Democratic Citizenship, University of Portsmouth)
  • Abby Cohen Smutny (Partner, Global Head of International Arbitration Practice, White & Case LLP)
  • Michail Dekastros (Associate, Sidley Austin LLP, Geneva)
  • Kabir Duggal (Senior International Arbitration Advisor, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP, New York; Lecturer-in-Law, Columbia Law School, New York)
  • Georgios Fasfalis (Associate, Linklaters LLP, Amsterdam)
  • Alexandre Genest (International Arbitration Associate, Steptoe & Johnson LLP)
  • Charalampos Giannakopoulos (Post-doctoral Fellow, Centre for International Law, National University of Singapore)
  • Anastasios Gourgourinis (Lecturer in Public International Law, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens School of Law; Athens PIL)
  • Shotaro Hamamoto (Professor, Kyoto University)
  • Veijo Heiskanen (Partner, LALIVE)
  • Anne K. Hoffmann (Independent Arbitrator, Hoffmann Arbitration, Dubai)
  • Anna Joubin-Bret (Secretary of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law and Director ITLD/OLA)
  • Sebastián Mantilla Blanco (Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Bonn)
  • Aliki-Athina Papanastasiou (International Arbitration Trainee, Three Crowns LLP; Researcher, AthensPIL)
  • Maria Paschou (International Arbitration Trainee, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP; Researcher, AthensPIL)
  • Relja Radović (Attorney-at-Law, BDK Advokati, Serbia)
  • Noah Rubins QC (Partner, Head of International Arbitration Practice Group in Paris and Global CIS/Russia Dispute Resolution Practice Group, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP)
  • Borzu Sabahi (Partner, Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP; Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University Law Center; Co-Director, International Investment Law Center, International Law Institute, Washington, D.C.)
  • Suzanne Spears (Partner, International Arbitration Group, Allen & Overy LLP)
  • Gisele Stephens-Chu (Avocate and Solicitor; Board Member, ArbitralWomen)
  • Marios Tokas (PhD candidate, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva; Researcher, AthensPIL)
  • Dimitra A. Tsakiri (Deputy Counsel, ICC International Court of Arbitration)
  • Marina Weiss (Counsel, Bredin Prat, Paris)
  • Meagan Wong (Lecturer, Postgraduate Director of the LLM in International Law,  Essex Law School)
  • Katia Yannaca-Small (Independent Counsel in International Law and Policy & Arbitrator; Adjunct Professor, University of Southern California Gould School of Law)

Daily lectures will start at 10.00 CEST and end at 17.00 CEST, with a two-hour break between 12.00 CEST and 14.00 CEST. 

A certificate of participation will be awarded to participants who have attended at least 80% of the academic programme.


The tuition fee for ELSA members/alumni is EUR 40.00, and for non-ELSA members EUR 50.00.


The application form can be found here. Places are limited. The application period will close on Monday, May 31, at 23.59 CEST.