The Summer Law School on International Investment Law, co-organized annually since 2016 by ELSA Athens and  the Athens Public International Law Center (Athens PIL) of the School of Law of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, under the academic supervision of Dr Anastasios Gourgourinis, will take place in Athens as an in person event, between July 25 and July 30, 2022.

The Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2022 will consist of a total of 30 hours of interactive lectures over 6 days, and will provide participants with all the essential tools to grasp the key aspects of international investment law, while also addressing some of the currently “hottest topics” of the field. The programme will also feature an interactive skills workshop under the aegis of ICDR Y&I.

The Faculty of the Summer Law School on International Investment Law 2022 includes (in alphabetical order):


  • Gloria Alvarez (Lecturer, University of Aberdeen)
  • Claudia Annacker (Partner, Dechert LLP, Paris)
  • John A. Apsouris (General Counsel, Hellenic Petroleum Group; Chair of the Legal Issue Group of Fuels Europe, a division of the European Petroleum Refiners Association)
  • Walid Ben Hamida (Professor of Law, University of Paris-Saclay (Evry-Val d’Essonne))
  • Christina Binder (Professor of International Law and Human Rights Law, Bundeswehr University, Munich)
  • Nikoletta Chalikopoulou (Associate, Lalive, Geneva)
  • Johanne Cox (Head of International Arbitration, Shoosmiths, London)
  • Joel Dahlquist (Managing Associate, Arbitration Chambers, London)
  • Carlo De Stefano (Lecturer and Post-Doc Researcher in International Law, Roma Tre University)
  • Anastasios Gourgourinis (Assistant Professor in Public International Law, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens School of Law; Athens PIL)
  • Nikos Lavranos (International Dispute Resolution Lawyer, Of Counsel Wöss & Partners)
  • Patricia Nacimiento (Senior Partner and Head of Disputes Germany, Herbert Smith Freehills, Frankfurt)
  • Sophie Nappert (International Arbitrator in independent practice, London; Co-Founder, ArbTech)
  • Chrysthia Papacleovoulou (Lecturer, Open University Cyprus)
  • Thomas-Nektarios Papanastasiou (Assistant Professor of Public International Law, Neapolis University, Pafos)
  • Martins Paparinskis (Reader in Public International Law, University College London)
  • Paschalis Paschalidis (Counsel, Arendt & Medernach, Luxembourg)
  • Vassilis Pergantis (Assistant Professor, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
  • Michail Risvas (Lecturer in Law, University of Southampton)
  • Krista Nadakavukaren Schefer (Co-Head, Legal Services Division, Swiss Institute of Comparative Law, Basel)
  • Evgenia Stavropoulou (Foreign Attorney, Kim & Chang, Seoul)
  • Edoardo Stoppioni  (Professor, University of Strasbourg)
  • Catharine Titi  (Research Associate Professor, CNRS-CERSA, University Paris II Panthéon- Assas)
  • Sergey Usoskin (Advocate at Usoskin Arbitration, Moscow)
  • Katia Yannaca-Small (Independent Counsel in International Law and Policy & Arbitrator; Adjunct Professor, University of Southern California Gould School of Law)

Daily lectures will start at 10.00 CEST and end at 18.00 CEST.

A certificate of participation will be awarded to participants who have attended at least 80% of the academic programme.



ELSA member favoured country - 315€

ELSA member non-favoured country - 350€

ELSA Alumni - 400€

Member of a partner organisation - 400€

Non-member - 400€


The participation fee includes tuition, hotel accommodation (shared, in a two-bed room), breakfast for every day (excluding the day of arrival), lunch for every day (excluding either the day of arrival or the day of departure), dinner for every day (excluding the day of departure), transportation during the official programme (if necessary), and administrative costs.



The application form can be found here. Places are limited. The application period will close on 17 April 2022.